Diplomatic and Consular Missions

We regularly advise diplomatic and consular missions not only on the application of (i) the rules of law relating to their status, privileges and immunities and to those of the members of their staff and their families, as they derive in particular from the Conventions of Vienna on diplomatic and consular relations, but also (ii) on provisions of Belgian law. For example, we can intervene within the framework of:

  • Providing advice on Belgian labor legislation;
  • Drafting of social documents in accordance with Belgian law (work regulations eligible for approval by the Commission des Bons Offices (CBO) and the work inspection, employment contracts, dismissal letters etc.);
  • Obtaining work permits for certain members of the staff of diplomatic missions (especially when the period of validity of special cards expires);
  • Rules governing the main contracts binding the diplomatic mission or the consulate with local players (leases, sales contracts, business or insurance contracts, etc.);
  • Rules governing immunities from jurisdiction and execution of diplomatic missions, consulates and diplomats;
  • Tracking CD license plates and special identity cards to categories of personnel active in diplomatic and consular missions, and to members of their families;
  • Monitoring of special identity cards for private servants of foreign diplomatic representatives (being the head of a diplomatic or consular post or the head of a recognized international organization with diplomatic status).

We also assist diplomatic and consular missions in monitoring, if necessary in close collaboration with the Protocol Service (foreign affairs) and the FPS Finance, all legal and tax matters concerning them.

International Organizations

We advise international organizations on all types of legal matters and, in particular, on any issue inherent in the application of a Headquarters Agreements (bilateral and multilateral) establishing the statutes of international organizations wishing to establish themselves in Belgium.

These Headquarters Agreements primarily determine the fiscal privileges and jurisdictional immunities of the organization and of its staff.

We moreover, manage the administrative aspects of the stay of international civil servants and members of their families on Belgian territory in consultation with the Protocol Service and international organizations.

Disputes

We advise diplomatic missions and international organizations in legal disputes before Belgian courts and, if necessary, represent them vis-à-vis the Protocol Service.

We also manage cases handled at the level of the Commission des Bons Offices (CBO), a body created in 2013 to intervene in disputes relating to labor law and Belgian social security between foreign diplomatic missions, and members of their staff.

This commission helps to resolve individual or collective problems through information, conciliation, or mediation, and provides advice in order to find amicable arrangements.

Corporate Law

Company and association law is the branch of private law that studies legal persons. It includes all the rules applicable to the creation, operation and possible liquidation of companies and associations. This branch of law is also interested in the relationships between the actors of legal entities (notably the shareholders, members, and directors) and those that the latter have with third parties.

We support Belgian and foreign legal persons wishing to develop their activities in our country at all stages of their development while protecting their interests in the event of litigation.

S-Team lawyers and their experts support and advise, among other aspects of corporate law, with:

  • Constitution of Belgian companies or associations;
  • Creation of branches of foreign companies;
  • Operations on the capital and issues of securities such as the reduction and increase of capital and the sale of shares;
  • Shareholders’ agreements;
  • Mergers, demergers, joint-ventures and other corporate restructurings;
  • Dissolutions and liquidations of companies;
  • Corporate legal secretariat;
  • Disputes in company law, such as disputes between shareholders (action for the forced repurchase of securities or action for withdrawal), or disputes relating to the responsibilities and duties of directors,
  • Advice on various issues related to the Companies and Associations Code (CSA) and other specific company law regulations.

Where appropriate, our lawyers can also advise you in cases where your company is faced with insolvency law, as governed by book 20 of the Code of Economic Law. Thus, we regularly intervene in bankruptcy or judicial reorganization (PRJ) proceedings on behalf of creditors or debtors.

Missions diplomatiques et consulaires

Nous conseillons régulièrement les missions diplomatiques et consulaires non seulement sur l’application (i) des règles de droit relatives à leurs statuts, privilèges et immunités et à ceux des membres de leur personnel et de leurs familles, telles qu’elles découlent notamment des Conventions de Vienne sur les relations diplomatiques et consulaires, mais également (ii) des dispositions de droit belge.

À titre d’exemple, nous pouvons intervenir dans le cadre de :

  • de la fourniture de conseils sur la législation belge du travail;
  • de la rédaction de documents sociaux conformes au droit belge (règlements de travail éligibles à l’approbation de la Commission des Bons Offices et de l’Inspection du Travail, contrats de travail, lettres de licenciement etc.);
  • de l’obtention de permis de travail pour certains membres du personnel des missions diplomatiques (notamment lorsque la durée de validité des cartes spéciales arrivent à échéance);
  • des règles gouvernant les principaux contrats liant la mission diplomatique ou le consulat avec des acteurs locaux (baux, contrats de vente, contrats d’entreprise ou d’assurance etc.);
  • des règles encadrant les immunités de juridiction et d’exécution des missions diplomatiques, consulats et diplomates;
  • du suivi des plaques d’immatriculation CD et des cartes d’identité spéciales aux catégories de personnel actives dans les missions diplomatiques et consulaires et aux membres de leur famille ;
  • du suivi des cartes d’identité spéciales pour les domestiques privés des représentants diplomatiques étrangers (étant le chef d’un poste diplomatique ou consulaire ou le responsable d’une organisation internationale reconnue possédant le statut diplomatique).

Nous assistons également les missions diplomatiques et consulaires dans le suivi, le cas échéant en étroite collaboration avec le Service du Protocole (affaires étrangères) et du SPF Finances, de tous les sujets juridiques et fiscaux les concernant.

Organisations internationales

Nous conseillons les organisations internationales sur tout type de sujets juridiques et, notamment, sur toute problématique inhérente à l’application des Accords de siège (bilatéraux et multilatéraux) fixant les statuts des organisations internationales voulant s’établir en Belgique. Ces Accords de siège déterminent principalement les privilèges fiscaux et immunités juridictionnelles de l’organisation et des membres de leur personnel.

De même, nous gérons les aspects administratifs du séjour des fonctionnaires internationaux et des membres de leur famille sur le territoire belge en concertation avec le Service du Protocole et les organisations internationales.

Litiges

Nous conseillons les missions diplomatiques et les organisations internationales dans de nombreux litiges portés devant les juridictions belges et, le cas échéant, les représentons auprès du Service du Protocole.

Nous gérons également les dossiers traités au niveau de la Commission des Bons Offices (CBO), organisme créé en 2013 pour intervenir dans les litiges relatifs au droit du travail et à la sécurité sociale belge opposant les missions diplomatiques étrangères et les membres de leur personnel.

Cette commission remplit des missions d’information, de conciliation et la médiation, et fournit également des conseils afin de trouver des arrangements amiables.

Droit des sociétés

Le droit des sociétés et des associations est la branche du droit privé qui étudie les personnes morales. Il comprend l’ensemble des règles applicables à la création, au fonctionnement ainsi qu’à l’éventuelle liquidation des sociétés et des associations. Cette branche du droit s’intéresse également aux relations entre les acteurs des personnes morales (actionnaires, membres, administrateurs, notamment) et à celles que ces dernières entretiennent avec les tiers.

Nous accompagnons les personnes morales belges et étrangères souhaitant développer leurs activités dans notre pays à tous les stades de leur développement tout en protégeant leurs intérêts en cas de litiges.

Les avocats S-Team et leurs experts vous assistent, entre autres, en matière :

  • de constitution de sociétés ou d’associations belges;
  • de création de succursales de sociétés étrangères;
  • d’opérations sur le capital et d’émissions de titres telles que la réduction et l’augmentation de capital et les cessions d’actions;
  • de pactes d’actionnaires;
  • de fusions, scissions et autres restructurations de sociétés;
  • de dissolutions et liquidations de sociétés;
  • de secrétariat juridique des sociétés;
  • de litiges en droit des sociétés, tels que les conflits entre actionnaires (action en rachat forcé de titres ou action en retrait) ou les différends liés aux responsabilités et devoirs des administrateurs;
  • de conseils sur des questions variées liées au Code des sociétés et des associations (CSA) et autres réglementations spécifiques de droit des sociétés.

Le cas échéant, nos avocats peuvent également vous conseiller dans les cas où votre entreprise est confrontée au droit de l’insolvabilité, tel que régi par le livre XX du Code de droit économique. Ainsi, nous intervenons régulièrement dans des procédures de faillite ou de réorganisation judiciaire (PRJ) pour le compte de clients créanciers ou débiteurs.